Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Daughters of a Dead Empire



by
Carolyn Tara O'Neil

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
Roaring Brook
ISBN
9781250755537
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War , Violence: Graphic Descriptions , Language: Strong Language , Discrimination: Religious
$20.16   $16.80
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Young Adults

In this harrowing novel perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein, two girls from separate worlds flee across the Russian countryside at the height of the Bolshevik Revolution.

Russia, 1918: With the execution of Tsar Nicholas, the empire crumbles and Russia is on the edge of civil war—the poor are devouring the rich. Anna, a bourgeois girl, narrowly escaped the massacre of her entire family in Yekaterinburg. Desperate to get away from the Bolsheviks, she offers a peasant girl a diamond to take her as far south as possible—not realizing that the girl is a communist herself. With her brother in desperate need of a doctor, Evgenia accepts Anna's offer, and suddenly finds herself on the wrong side of the war.

Anna is being hunted by the Bolsheviks, and now—regardless of her loyalties—Evgenia is too.

Daughters of a Dead Empire is a harrowing historical thriller about dangerous ideals, loyalty, and the price we pay for change. An imaginative retelling of the Anastasia story.

Historical note. Pronunciation guide. Author’s note. Bibliography. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: War/Harsh Realities of War , Violence: Graphic Descriptions , Language: Strong Language , Discrimination: Religious

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

336

Trim Size

8 1/2" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

HL640L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jun 2022

Book Genres

Historical Fiction

Topics

Grand Duchess Anastasia (1901–1918). Nicholas II, Emperor of Russia (1868–1918). Soviet Union. Survival. Friendship. Social classes. Communism. Russian Revolution (1917-1923). Alternative history. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults
For Grades 9 & Up

Your older teen readers will appreciate the 12 selections in this category, a diverse mix of fiction and nonfiction covering complex issues and more mature content, from crushes and body changes to friendships and sibling rivalry.

12 books per Year
$243.96 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults
12 books per Year
$243.96 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Young Adults

Valiant Ladies

by Melissa Gray

Young Adults

September 2022

Young Adults

August 2022

Live, Laugh, Kidnap

by Gabby Noone

Young Adults

July 2022

Daughters of a Dead Empire

by Carolyn Tara O'Neil

Young Adults

June 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.