Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Big Apple Diaries



written and illustrated by
Alyssa Bermudez

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
Roaring Brook
ISBN
9781250774279
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Infrequent Use , Language: Mild Language
$20.76   $17.30
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

In this heartfelt diary-style graphic memoir, a young New Yorker doodles her way through middle school—until the September 11, 2001, terrorist attack leaves her wondering if she can ever be a kid again.

It’s the year 2000 in New York City. For 12-year old Alyssa, this means splitting time between her Puerto Rican dad's apartment in Manhattan and her white mom's new place in Queens, navigating the trials and tribulations of middle school, and an epic crush on a new classmate. The only way to make sense of it all is to capture the highs and lows in doodles and hilarious comics in a diary.

Then life abruptly changes on September 11, 2001. After the Twin Towers fall and so many lives are lost, worries about gossip and boys feel distant and insignificant. Alyssa must find a new sense of self and purpose amidst all of the chaos, and find the strength to move forward with hope.Author’s note, with photographs. Two-color digital illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Language: Infrequent Use , Language: Mild Language

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

288

Trim Size

8" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

B

AR

4.4: points 3

Lexile

GN650L

Genre

Nonfic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Dec 2021

Book Genres

Autobiography/Biography, Graphic Novels

Topics

Alyssa Bermudez. September 11 terrorist attacks, 2001. New York City. Racially mixed families. Diaries. Art and drawing. Puerto Rican identity. Middle schools. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5-8-Bermudez relies on her middle school diaries to document life as a preteen in New York City during and shortly after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. Seventh grader Alyssa longs to be popular, frets about pimples, tries to attract the attention of her crush Alejandro, and strives for high grades so she can be accepted into a good Catholic high school and avoid disappointing her parents. Her family life causes her anxiety-her Puerto Rican father and her white mother are divorced and are reluctant to give her the social freedom she so desperately desires. Feeling torn between two homes and lives, she struggles to see herself as "fully" Puerto Rican or white, turning to drawing in her diary as an escape. Alyssa's life takes a turn in eighth grade, when the World Trade Center towers are attacked. Confused and scared, she suddenly faces an uncertain future. In her author's note, Bermudez mentions that she never wrote about 9/11 in her real diary at the time-she didn't process the events until she was an adult, and the tenderness of that experience is evident in her graphic memoir. Bermudez's illustrations are heartfelt and youthful, emphasizing her innocence and transition into young adulthood post-9/11. Stylized like funky doodles, illustrations rendered in shades of blue will appeal to younger readers without taking away from the serious undercurrent of the book. VERDICT Educators seeking firsthand accounts of 9/11 will want to share this with their students, while middle graders looking for an engrossing graphic novel in the vein of Raina Telgemeier's or Shannon Hale's work will be pleased.-Elise Martinez, Racine, WI

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 5-8-Bermudez relies on her middle school diaries to document life as a preteen in New York City during and shortly after the terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001. Seventh grader Alyssa longs to be popular, frets about pimples, tries to attract the attention of her crush Alejandro, and strives for high grades so she can be accepted into a good Catholic high school and avoid disappointing her parents. Her family life causes her anxiety-her Puerto Rican father and her white mother are divorced and are reluctant to give her the social freedom she so desperately desires. Feeling torn between two homes and lives, she struggles to see herself as "fully" Puerto Rican or white, turning to drawing in her diary as an escape. Alyssa's life takes a turn in eighth grade, when the World Trade Center towers are attacked. Confused and scared, she suddenly faces an uncertain future. In her author's note, Bermudez mentions that she never wrote about 9/11 in her real diary at the time-she didn't process the events until she was an adult, and the tenderness of that experience is evident in her graphic memoir. Bermudez's illustrations are heartfelt and youthful, emphasizing her innocence and transition into young adulthood post-9/11. Stylized like funky doodles, illustrations rendered in shades of blue will appeal to younger readers without taking away from the serious undercurrent of the book. VERDICT Educators seeking firsthand accounts of 9/11 will want to share this with their students, while middle graders looking for an engrossing graphic novel in the vein of Raina Telgemeier's or Shannon Hale's work will be pleased.-Elise Martinez, Racine, WI

Grades 5-8
Graphic Novels Middle Plus
For Grades 5-8

Book-length narratives presented in comic book style, graphic novels foster both visual and verbal comprehension skills while exposing readers to interesting dialogue and satire, as well as affirming diversity.

JLG's selection of these unique books, some of them only published in softcover, are ideal for attracting reluctant readers and introducing them to literature they might not encounter otherwise. You may find that the 12 books in this category will turn your reluctant readers into eager readers.

14 books per Year
$293.02 per Year
Interests
Diversity,ESL,Fiction,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers,Transitional Readers,Funny/Humorous
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 5-8
Graphic Novels Middle Plus
14 books per Year
$293.02 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Graphic Novels Middle Plus

Welcome to Feral

by Mark Fearing

Graphic Novels Middle Plus

January 2023

Graphic Novels Middle Plus

December 2022

Freestyle

by Gail Galligan

Graphic Novels Middle Plus

November 2022

Graphic Novels Middle Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.