Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Art Is Everywhere: A Book about Andy Warhol



written and illustrated by
Jeff Mack

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Macmillan
Imprint
Henry Holt and Company, Inc.
ISBN
9781250777157
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$21.06   $17.55
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A playful picture book biography of Andy Warhol and the origin of his pop art.

This is the story of Andy Warhol—and how his pop art took the world by storm. From drawing shoes for a shoe company to his Campbell's Soup cans and Marilyn Monroe prints, Andy made art out of the everyday. People claimed Andy's art wasn't real art, but that didn't stop him from making it, plus movies, a magazine, a TV show, and more!

Jeff Mack explores Warhol's fascination (and our own) with celebrity and fame, and opens readers' minds to the possibilities for art in the world around us. With an emphasis on the idea that anything can be art and anyone can be an artist, this is a book that's perfect for creative families and school art curriculums. It's sure to appeal to fans of Henri's Scissors and Andy Warhol's Colors.

More about Andy Warhol. Black-and white photographs of Warhol’s art. Full-color mixed-media illustrations. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

48

Trim Size

10" x 10"

Dewey

B

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

AD480L

Genre

Nonfic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

May 2022

Book Genres

Autobiography/Biography, Picture Book

Topics

Andy Warhol (1928–1987). US artists. Pop art. New York City.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

K-Gr 2-This illustrated biography will engage readers with its conversational, first-person narration about what inspired Warhol's artistry and what art can be. A drawn figure of Warhol, who ages as the book progresses, speaks directly to his audience as he prompts them with questions about the nature of art, noting how personal enjoyment of everyday things matters and fame is a disputed factor. Though the term Pop Art and its associated art techniques are not specifically named until the end note, the core concepts defining this movement are presented in the form of illustrated representations of Warhol's creations, as well as repeated words, portrait frames, and pictorial sequences that reflect his attention to pop culture and advertising. With relatable words, such as how anything can be "pretty" and "cool," the narrative builds a simple, unexplored but noticeable cycle about the critical opposition Warhol faced about his artwork and how he challenged relationships among fame, art media, and perceptions of art. Deliberate use of black-outlined forms, bold colors, and scattered elements showcase the visual effects of collage and screen printing. Mack's illustrations coordinate with his depictions of Warhol's most renowned works and distinct use of different art media. VERDICT Ideal for the art classroom and in-class discussion, this friendly introduction to Warhol's artistic inspirations, loosely framed around a biographical narrative, will spark curiosity in early elementary listeners as they brush through big questions about art and fame.-Rachel Mulligan, Westampton, NJ

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

K-Gr 2-This illustrated biography will engage readers with its conversational, first-person narration about what inspired Warhol's artistry and what art can be. A drawn figure of Warhol, who ages as the book progresses, speaks directly to his audience as he prompts them with questions about the nature of art, noting how personal enjoyment of everyday things matters and fame is a disputed factor. Though the term Pop Art and its associated art techniques are not specifically named until the end note, the core concepts defining this movement are presented in the form of illustrated representations of Warhol's creations, as well as repeated words, portrait frames, and pictorial sequences that reflect his attention to pop culture and advertising. With relatable words, such as how anything can be "pretty" and "cool," the narrative builds a simple, unexplored but noticeable cycle about the critical opposition Warhol faced about his artwork and how he challenged relationships among fame, art media, and perceptions of art. Deliberate use of black-outlined forms, bold colors, and scattered elements showcase the visual effects of collage and screen printing. Mack's illustrations coordinate with his depictions of Warhol's most renowned works and distinct use of different art media. VERDICT Ideal for the art classroom and in-class discussion, this friendly introduction to Warhol's artistic inspirations, loosely framed around a biographical narrative, will spark curiosity in early elementary listeners as they brush through big questions about art and fame.-Rachel Mulligan, Westampton, NJ

Grades 2-6
Arts Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6
These art-themed fiction and nonfiction books will foster a love of the arts among elementary readers. Enhance your arts program monthly will 12 books per year in this category.

14 books per Year
$297.36 per Year
Interests
Biographies,Diversity,Nonfiction,Science/STEAM
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Arts Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$297.36 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Arts Elementary Plus

How to Draw a Happy Cat

by Ethan T. Berlin

Arts Elementary Plus

December 2022

Arts Elementary Plus

November 2022

Arts Elementary Plus

October 2022

Arts Elementary Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.