Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat

By: Raúl the Third

In this new Vamos! title, Let’s Go Eat, Little Lobo is excited to take in a show with wrestling star El Toro in his bustling border town. After getting lunch orders from The Bull and his friends to help prepare for the event, Little Lobo takes readers on a tour of food trucks that sell his favorite foods, like quesadillas with red peppers and Mexican-Korean tacos. Peppered with easy-to-remember Latin-American Spanish vocabulary, this glorious celebration of food is sure to leave every reader hungry for lunch! Jam-packed with fun details and things to see, the Vamos! books are perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Where’s Waldo?

ISBN: 9781328557049

JLG Release: Jul 2020


Sensitive Areas: None
Topics: Delivery of goods , Food trucks , Wrestling , City and town life , Mexican Americans , Dogs , Hispanic and Latino Americans

$17.55  Member Price


Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Multicultural Elementary

Grades 2-6

12 titles/year

$210.60/year

Awards & Honors

2021 Belpre Award for illustration

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Publishers Weekly*, School Library Journal*, The Horn Book Magazine*

School Library Journal

Delivery wolf extraordinaire Little Lobo must feed his hungriest clients yet. First seen in ¡Vamos! Let’s Go to the Market, Little Lobo and his dog, Bernabé, return with a new bike for speedy deliveries. The new wheels help the duo hit up a variety of food trucks to satisfy the diverse desires of a troupe of hungry luchadores with aliases like Delivery wolf extraordinaire Little Lobo must feed his hungriest clients yet. First seen in ¡Vamos! Let’s Go to the Market, Little Lobo and his dog, Bernabé, return with a new bike for speedy deliveries. The new wheels help the duo hit up a variety of food trucks to satisfy the diverse desires of a troupe of hungry luchadores with aliases like La Oink Oink and the ingeniously named Armor Dillo. Much like Market, the narrative is secondary to the richly detailed world Little Lobo explores. Anthropomorphic roosters, cats, bunnies, snakes, and even a pig with a tattoo that says jamon all have a friendly smile and words of encouragement for Little Lobo. A cucaracha with a yellow shirt, white cowboy hat, and bolo tie accompanies Little Lobo throughout the story: this book’s version of Richard Scarry’s Goldbug. Throughout this delicious odyssey, readers are treated to a smorgasbord of Mexican food terms, and the intricate illustrations are peppered with Spanish labels for the items pictured, from lapiz (pencil) to molcajete (mortar and pestle for making salsa). Be prepared to be lost in this book para siempre. Combining two iconic elements of Mexican culture, food trucks and lucha libre, this tale will make readers of all ages hungry for tacos, burritos, and elote (Mexican street corn)—and for more stories set in the inviting, busy town created by Raúl the Third.

Horn Book

Little Lobo and his canine sidekick Bernabé, whom we met in ¡Vamos!: Let’s Go to the Market (rev. 3/19), are getting ready for another day in their delivery business when they receive an urgent request from their favorite wrestler, the famous El Toro. The luchadores are training for a big show, and they are hungry! Thankfully, Little Lobo knows Little Lobo and his canine sidekick Bernabé, whom we met in ¡Vamos!: Let’s Go to the Market (rev. 3/19), are getting ready for another day in their delivery business when they receive an urgent request from their favorite wrestler, the famous El Toro. The luchadores are training for a big show, and they are hungry! Thankfully, Little Lobo knows all the best food trucks where they can get enough tacos, carnitas, elotes, tamales, and burritos (and enough choices for dessert) to satisfy the energy needs of a group of wrestling stars. Little Lobo, Bernabé, their rooster friend Kooky Dooky, and all the characters in this diverting adventure are cartoony animals or imaginary creatures, and a straightforward narration is complemented by plenty of comic vignettes that advance the plot with dialogue in English, Spanish, and Spanglish. The busy illustrations are full of context clues and detailed elements. The characters are animated, and the scenes are vibrant with activity and movement—from a very stretchy cheese to a stack of flying tortillas. The abundance of labels and street signs makes this book a vocabulary lesson, too, on ingredients, food trucks, and culinary delicacies.

Book Details

ISBN

9781328557049

First Release

July 2020

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

10" x 10"

Page Count

48

Accelerated Reader

N/A

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 2.2; Points: 1;

Lexile

N/A

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Potentially Sensitive Areas

None

Topics

Delivery of goods, Food trucks, Wrestling, City and town life, Mexican Americans, Dogs, Hispanic and Latino Americans,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Book Genres

Picture Book

Recommended Titles From Multicultural Elementary

Multicultural Elementary

$17.55
Out of stock

A Thousand Questions

by Saadia Faruqi

Multicultural Elementary

$17.55
Out of stock

My Day with Gong Gong

by Sennah Yee

Multicultural Elementary

$17.55

Multicultural Elementary

$17.55
Out of stock
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.