Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

¡Vamos! Let’s Go Eat



written and illustrated by
Raúl the Third

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Imprint
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN
9781328557049

Awards and Honors
2021 Belpre Award for illustration
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$21.06   $17.55
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

In this new Vamos! title, Let’s Go Eat, Little Lobo is excited to take in a show with wrestling star El Toro in his bustling border town. After getting lunch orders from The Bull and his friends to help prepare for the event, Little Lobo takes readers on a tour of food trucks that sell his favorite foods, like quesadillas with red peppers and Mexican-Korean tacos. Peppered with easy-to-remember Latin-American Spanish vocabulary, this glorious celebration of food is sure to leave every reader hungry for lunch! Jam-packed with fun details and things to see, the Vamos! books are perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Where’s Waldo?

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

48

Trim Size

10" x 10"

Dewey

F

AR

2.7: points 0.5

Lexile

AD560L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

1

JLG Release

Jul 2020

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Delivery of goods. Food trucks. Wrestling. City and town life. Mexican Americans. Dogs. Hispanic and Latino Americans.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Publishers Weekly*, School Library Journal*, The Horn Book Magazine*

School Library Journal

Delivery wolf extraordinaire Little Lobo must feed his hungriest clients yet. First seen in ¡Vamos! Let’s Go to the Market, Little Lobo and his dog, Bernabé, return with a new bike for speedy deliveries. The new wheels help the duo hit up a variety of food trucks to satisfy the diverse desires of a troupe of hungry luchadores with aliases like La Oink Oink and the ingeniously named Armor Dillo. Much like Market, the narrative is secondary to the richly detailed world Little Lobo explores. Anthropomorphic roosters, cats, bunnies, snakes, and even a pig with a tattoo that says jamon all have a friendly smile and words of encouragement for Little Lobo. A cucaracha with a yellow shirt, white cowboy hat, and bolo tie accompanies Little Lobo throughout the story: this book’s version of Richard Scarry’s Goldbug. Throughout this delicious odyssey, readers are treated to a smorgasbord of Mexican food terms, and the intricate illustrations are peppered with Spanish labels for the items pictured, from lapiz (pencil) to molcajete (mortar and pestle for making salsa). Be prepared to be lost in this book para siempre. Combining two iconic elements of Mexican culture, food trucks and lucha libre, this tale will make readers of all ages hungry for tacos, burritos, and elote (Mexican street corn)—and for more stories set in the inviting, busy town created by Raúl the Third.

Horn Book

Little Lobo and his canine sidekick Bernabé, whom we met in ¡Vamos!: Let’s Go to the Market (rev. 3/19), are getting ready for another day in their delivery business when they receive an urgent request from their favorite wrestler, the famous El Toro. The luchadores are training for a big show, and they are hungry! Thankfully, Little Lobo knows all the best food trucks where they can get enough tacos, carnitas, elotes, tamales, and burritos (and enough choices for dessert) to satisfy the energy needs of a group of wrestling stars. Little Lobo, Bernabé, their rooster friend Kooky Dooky, and all the characters in this diverting adventure are cartoony animals or imaginary creatures, and a straightforward narration is complemented by plenty of comic vignettes that advance the plot with dialogue in English, Spanish, and Spanglish. The busy illustrations are full of context clues and detailed elements. The characters are animated, and the scenes are vibrant with activity and movement—from a very stretchy cheese to a stack of flying tortillas. The abundance of labels and street signs makes this book a vocabulary lesson, too, on ingredients, food trucks, and culinary delicacies.

School Library Journal

Gr 2-5-Delivery wolf extraordinaire Little Lobo must feed his hungriest clients yet. First seen in ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market, Little Lobo and his dog, Bernabe, return with a new bike for speedy deliveries. The new wheels help the duo hit up a variety of food trucks to satisfy the diverse desires of a troupe of hungry luchadores with aliases like La Oink Oink and the ingeniously named Armor Dillo. Much like Market, the narrative is secondary to the richly detailed world Little Lobo explores. Anthropomorphic roosters, cats, bunnies, snakes, and even a pig with a tattoo that says jamon all have a friendly smile and words of encouragement for Little Lobo. A cucaracha with a yellow shirt, white cowboy hat, and bolo tie accompanies Little Lobo throughout the story: this book's version of Richard Scarry's Goldbug. Throughout this delicious odyssey, readers are treated to a smorgasbord of Mexican food terms, and the intricate illustrations are peppered with Spanish labels for the items pictured, from lapiz (pencil) to molcajete (mortar and pestle for making salsa). Be prepared to be lost in this book para siempre. VERDICT Combining two iconic elements of Mexican culture, food trucks and lucha libre, this tale will make readers of all ages hungry for tacos, burritos, and elote (Mexican street corn)-and for more stories set in the inviting, busy town created by Raúl the Third.-Chance Lee Joyner, Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library, NH?(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Delivery wolf extraordinaire Little Lobo must feed his hungriest clients yet. First seen in ¡Vamos! Let’s Go to the Market, Little Lobo and his dog, Bernabé, return with a new bike for speedy deliveries. The new wheels help the duo hit up a variety of food trucks to satisfy the diverse desires of a troupe of hungry luchadores with aliases like La Oink Oink and the ingeniously named Armor Dillo. Much like Market, the narrative is secondary to the richly detailed world Little Lobo explores. Anthropomorphic roosters, cats, bunnies, snakes, and even a pig with a tattoo that says jamon all have a friendly smile and words of encouragement for Little Lobo. A cucaracha with a yellow shirt, white cowboy hat, and bolo tie accompanies Little Lobo throughout the story: this book’s version of Richard Scarry’s Goldbug. Throughout this delicious odyssey, readers are treated to a smorgasbord of Mexican food terms, and the intricate illustrations are peppered with Spanish labels for the items pictured, from lapiz (pencil) to molcajete (mortar and pestle for making salsa). Be prepared to be lost in this book para siempre. Combining two iconic elements of Mexican culture, food trucks and lucha libre, this tale will make readers of all ages hungry for tacos, burritos, and elote (Mexican street corn)—and for more stories set in the inviting, busy town created by Raúl the Third.

Horn Book

Little Lobo and his canine sidekick Bernabé, whom we met in ¡Vamos!: Let’s Go to the Market (rev. 3/19), are getting ready for another day in their delivery business when they receive an urgent request from their favorite wrestler, the famous El Toro. The luchadores are training for a big show, and they are hungry! Thankfully, Little Lobo knows all the best food trucks where they can get enough tacos, carnitas, elotes, tamales, and burritos (and enough choices for dessert) to satisfy the energy needs of a group of wrestling stars. Little Lobo, Bernabé, their rooster friend Kooky Dooky, and all the characters in this diverting adventure are cartoony animals or imaginary creatures, and a straightforward narration is complemented by plenty of comic vignettes that advance the plot with dialogue in English, Spanish, and Spanglish. The busy illustrations are full of context clues and detailed elements. The characters are animated, and the scenes are vibrant with activity and movement—from a very stretchy cheese to a stack of flying tortillas. The abundance of labels and street signs makes this book a vocabulary lesson, too, on ingredients, food trucks, and culinary delicacies.

School Library Journal

Gr 2-5-Delivery wolf extraordinaire Little Lobo must feed his hungriest clients yet. First seen in ¡Vamos! Let's Go to the Market, Little Lobo and his dog, Bernabe, return with a new bike for speedy deliveries. The new wheels help the duo hit up a variety of food trucks to satisfy the diverse desires of a troupe of hungry luchadores with aliases like La Oink Oink and the ingeniously named Armor Dillo. Much like Market, the narrative is secondary to the richly detailed world Little Lobo explores. Anthropomorphic roosters, cats, bunnies, snakes, and even a pig with a tattoo that says jamon all have a friendly smile and words of encouragement for Little Lobo. A cucaracha with a yellow shirt, white cowboy hat, and bolo tie accompanies Little Lobo throughout the story: this book's version of Richard Scarry's Goldbug. Throughout this delicious odyssey, readers are treated to a smorgasbord of Mexican food terms, and the intricate illustrations are peppered with Spanish labels for the items pictured, from lapiz (pencil) to molcajete (mortar and pestle for making salsa). Be prepared to be lost in this book para siempre. VERDICT Combining two iconic elements of Mexican culture, food trucks and lucha libre, this tale will make readers of all ages hungry for tacos, burritos, and elote (Mexican street corn)-and for more stories set in the inviting, busy town created by Raúl the Third.-Chance Lee Joyner, Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library, NH?(c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Grades 2-6
Multicultural Elementary
For Grades 2-6

Receive 12 books that feature plot lines with ethnically and culturally diverse characters that may help foster an awareness and understanding of others.

12 books per Year
$254.88 per Year
Interests
Character/Good Citizenship,Diversity/Multicultural,Fiction,Nonfiction,Picture Books,Storytime/Read Alouds
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Multicultural Elementary
12 books per Year
$254.88 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Multicultural Elementary

Multicultural Elementary

January 2023

Multicultural Elementary

December 2022

Yossel's Journey

by Kathryn Lasky

Multicultural Elementary

November 2022

Multicultural Elementary

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.