Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

A Pig in the Palace



written and illustrated by
Ali Bahrampour

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Abrams
Imprint
Print
ISBN
9781419745713
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$14.80
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A flea-ridden forest boar, bewildered by an invitation to have dinner with the new and mysterious queen, leaves a trail of destruction at the palace, but discovers one can find a kindred spirit in the most unlikely of places.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

32

Trim Size

9" x 11"

Dewey

E

AR

2.7: points 0.5

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Dec 2020

Book Genres

Fiction

Topics

Etiquette. Behavior. Boars. Queens. Humorous stories.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Wallowing in his pit of mud, Bobo the boar receives a surprising piece of mail: an invitation from the palace to meet the queen for dinner! A night of tossing and turning precedes the big day, and Bobo’s mind spins with questions: “How would he know which fork to use? Could he pick up his glass with his hooves?” Bobo wakes up late for his limousine ride (with humans) to visit the royal. His next mistake—arriving “underdressed,” or, rather, not dressed at all. A series of accidental mishaps ensues, leaving the palace in near-ruins. Well-timed page-turns move readers from one wild disaster to the next, before an amusing reveal of the queen’s identity leads to understanding. Our protagonist lets loose, no longer constrained from boar-ish behavior, and the accompanying illustration’s decorative frame cannot even contain the messy festivities. Bahrampour’s detailed and cartoonish watercolors pair with simple, understated text to set the tone for a silly tale about being yourself. Readers will snort with laughter alongside Bobo’s romp through the palace. GRACE MCKINNEY

Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Fans of Mac Barnett, Ursula Vernon, and Jeff Kinney will get their fill of belly laughs with the 12 books in this category. Sure to keep smiles alive.

14 books per Year
$207.20 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Transitional Readers,ESL,Fiction,Funny/Humorous,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$207.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Humor Elementary Plus

Humor Elementary Plus

May 2021

Humor Elementary Plus

April 2021

Humor Elementary Plus

March 2021

Humor Elementary Plus

February 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.