Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Sasquatch in the Paint: Streetball Crew, Book One


Series
Streetball Crew

by
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Disney Hyperion
Imprint
Disney-Hyperion
ISBN
9781423178705
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$6.00   $5.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

Now that Theo is suddenly six inches taller, will he be able to transform himself from an “invisible” science geek into a skilled basketball player?

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

224

Trim Size

5 1/2" x 8 1/4"

Dewey

F

AR

4.5: points 8

Lexile

660L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

13

JLG Release

Nov 2013

Book Genres


Topics

Basketball. Growth spurts. Height. Middle school. Science clubs. Interpersonal relations. African Americans. Jews. Friendship. Setting priorities. Trying something new.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Booklist, Kirkus Reviews*, Publishers Weekly, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Theo Rollins had been one of the most inconspicuous members of his class until he experienced a six-inch growth spurt before the start of eighth grade. Now, Coach Mandrake wants to build his entire offense around him, much to the dismay of the other team members because Theo is a science geek who stinks at basketball. The first game he plays is a disaster and, after a spectator makes a racist comment causing him to make a costly mistake, a classmate named Rain gives him the nickname “Sasquatch.” Later, Theo discovers that there is more to Rain than meets the eye. Faced with dismissal from the “Brain Train,” the school’s Aca-lympic team, because of the time he spends on basketball, Theo must make an important decision about his future. Fans of Matt Christopher and Dan Gutman will enjoy this humorous novel that delivers a heartwarming story about growing up, facing down bullies, and learning what true friendship is all about.—Wayne R. Cherry, Jr., First Baptist Academy Library, Houston, TX

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Theo Rollins had been one of the most inconspicuous members of his class until he experienced a six-inch growth spurt before the start of eighth grade. Now, Coach Mandrake wants to build his entire offense around him, much to the dismay of the other team members because Theo is a science geek who stinks at basketball. The first game he plays is a disaster and, after a spectator makes a racist comment causing him to make a costly mistake, a classmate named Rain gives him the nickname “Sasquatch.” Later, Theo discovers that there is more to Rain than meets the eye. Faced with dismissal from the “Brain Train,” the school’s Aca-lympic team, because of the time he spends on basketball, Theo must make an important decision about his future. Fans of Matt Christopher and Dan Gutman will enjoy this humorous novel that delivers a heartwarming story about growing up, facing down bullies, and learning what true friendship is all about.—Wayne R. Cherry, Jr., First Baptist Academy Library, Houston, TX

Grades 2-6
Sports Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Welcome to an exciting world of sports-themed fiction and nonfiction sure to win over your elementary sports fans. Have a few reluctant readers? These action-packed titles are a great way to get them in the game. And with 12 books per year, sports fans will be entertained all year long.

14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year
Interests
Biographies,Chapter Books,Fiction,Nonfiction,Positive Messages,Reluctant Readers,Sports
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Sports Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$228.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Sports Elementary Plus

The Fifth Quarter

by Mike Dawson

Sports Elementary Plus

October 2021

Sarah and the Big Wave

by Bonnie Tsui

Sports Elementary Plus

October 2021

Sports Elementary Plus

September 2021

Sports Elementary Plus

September 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.