Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

On Account of the Gum



written and illustrated by
Adam Rex

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Chronicle Books
Imprint
Chronicle
ISBN
9781452181547
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$14.40   $12.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

From the madcap mind of Adam Rex comes a book about the improbable, downright bizarre remedies for a problem kids have faced since the creation of gum.

How do you get gum out of your hair—a pair of scissors? Butter? The cat? Call your aunt, she'll know what to do. She doesn’t? Try the fire department!

With each page turn, this situation—relatable to any family—grows stickier and more desperate.Full-color illustrations painted in Photoshop.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

56

Trim Size

9 1/2" x 11 1/4"

Dewey

E

AR

2.9: points 0.5

Lexile

AD560L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Nov 2020

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Stories in rhyme. Chewing gum. Humorous stories.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Shown wordlessly before the title page, our unnamed protagonist is in a sticky situation after falling asleep while chewing gum. Upon awakening, and after that unpleasant discovery, the child’s gum-removal process begins, starting with scissors—which, whoops, get stuck to the gum, still in the hair. The narrator is offstage, but the advice is in-your-face, and progressively, hilariously, outrageous. There’s an offbeat rhythm to the sometimes-rhyming text that, likewise, keeps listeners guessing. “We went on some websites. / And all of them swear / if you want to get scissors / and gum out of hair / you take two sticks of butter / and smear them along, // I see. / It appears that those / websites were wrong.” The humor is in the page-turn (pre- and post-butter, for example); and the anticipation of what method the family will try next, shown in the unfailingly entertaining colorful and textured caricature illustrations centered on the wide-eyed child. Finally the kid has had enough—“STOP! GET OUT! Please” says the text, in bubble gum–looking speech balloons—leading to one of the problems being solved. But several remain; and on this, of all days. A rollicking cumulative tale that many listeners will want to choose and re-chew-se. ELISSA GERSHOWITZ

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

Shown wordlessly before the title page, our unnamed protagonist is in a sticky situation after falling asleep while chewing gum. Upon awakening, and after that unpleasant discovery, the child’s gum-removal process begins, starting with scissors—which, whoops, get stuck to the gum, still in the hair. The narrator is offstage, but the advice is in-your-face, and progressively, hilariously, outrageous. There’s an offbeat rhythm to the sometimes-rhyming text that, likewise, keeps listeners guessing. “We went on some websites. / And all of them swear / if you want to get scissors / and gum out of hair / you take two sticks of butter / and smear them along, // I see. / It appears that those / websites were wrong.” The humor is in the page-turn (pre- and post-butter, for example); and the anticipation of what method the family will try next, shown in the unfailingly entertaining colorful and textured caricature illustrations centered on the wide-eyed child. Finally the kid has had enough—“STOP! GET OUT! Please” says the text, in bubble gum–looking speech balloons—leading to one of the problems being solved. But several remain; and on this, of all days. A rollicking cumulative tale that many listeners will want to choose and re-chew-se. ELISSA GERSHOWITZ

Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Fans of Mac Barnett, Ursula Vernon, and Jeff Kinney will get their fill of belly laughs with the 12 books in this category. Sure to keep smiles alive.

14 books per Year
$227.92 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Transitional Readers,ESL,Fiction,Funny/Humorous,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$227.92 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Humor Elementary Plus

Humor Elementary Plus

April 2022

Humor Elementary Plus

March 2022

Humor Elementary Plus

February 2022
Out of stock

Otto: A Palindrama

by Jon Agee

Humor Elementary Plus

January 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.