Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Pudding Problem: Lyttle Lies

By: Joe Berger

A boy must untangle the web of lies he's created in order to prove his innocence when strange things start happening. Black-and-white illustrations.

ISBN: 9781481470834

JLG Release: Oct 2017


Series: Lyttle Lies
Sensitive Areas: None
Topics: Honesty , Family life , Friendship , School lunches , Humorous stories , Graphic novels

$13.99   $12.75 Member Price

Out of stock

Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Humor Elementary Plus

Grades 2-6

14 titles/year

$207.20/year

Awards & Honors

Parents’ Choice Award Winner, Fiction, Silver

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

Sam Lyttle has a big issue with telling the truth. He’d much rather skirt the facts in a misguided attempt to please those around him than deal with the complications of reality. Telling one lie leads to more and more until a landslide of falsehoods eventually push Sam into a confrontation with both his family and the school bully. Confoundin Sam Lyttle has a big issue with telling the truth. He’d much rather skirt the facts in a misguided attempt to please those around him than deal with the complications of reality. Telling one lie leads to more and more until a landslide of falsehoods eventually push Sam into a confrontation with both his family and the school bully. Confounding matters is the arrival of Pudding the cat; staring into the feline’s soulful eyes makes Sam feel incredibly guilty when he attempts to lie. This is a silly, slice-of-life tale with plenty of action and lots of (mildly gross) humor. The characters are quirky, amusing, and relatable, and Berger imparts a positive, nonpreachy message about the importance of honesty. Black-and-white comics flow smoothly from panel to panel; the characters are easy to distinguish from one another, and the story line is clear. At first glance, this narrative, which combines prose and comic book panels, may seem like just another “Wimpy Kid” look-alike, but the charming protagonist, who often falls flat on his face despite good intentions, makes this series entry stand out. VERDICT Fans of Lincoln Peirce’s “Big Nate” and Stephan Pastis’s “Timmy Failure” will adore this title; a fun addition to any juvenile graphic novel collection.—Kelley Gile, Cheshire Public Library, CT

Book Details

ISBN

9781481470834

First Release

October 2017

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8" x 5"

Page Count

240

Accelerated Reader

Level 3.7; Points: 1;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 3.5; Points: 5;

Lexile

Level 620L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Margaret K. McElderry

Potentially Sensitive Areas

None

Topics

Honesty, Family life, Friendship, School lunches, Humorous stories, Graphic novels,

Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Titles in Series: Lyttle Lies

Humor Elementary Plus

$13.99
Out of stock

Humor Elementary Plus

$14.80

Standard Correlations

Recommended Titles From Humor Elementary Plus

Humor Elementary Plus

$14.80

Humor Elementary Plus

$14.80

Smug Seagull

by Maddie Frost

Humor Elementary Plus

$14.80

Llama Unleashes the Alpacalypse

by Jonathan Stutzman

Humor Elementary Plus

$14.80
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.