Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Chickadee: Criminal Mastermind



by
Monica Silvie
illustrated by
Elina Ellis

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Kids Can Press
Imprint
Kids Can Press
ISBN
9781525303388
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None
$19.54   $16.28
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

A flying masked bandit (code name: Chickadee) discovers he isn't quite who he thinks he is in this fresh and delightful tale about discovering one's true nature.

Meet Chickadee. Criminal. Rapscallion. All-around bad seed. Sure, he started out obeying the rules, following his parents' advice about finding things to eat and staying away from houses. But then . . . winter arrives. And it's so much harder to find food in winter! So when Chickadee spies a “vault” full of “gold” near a house by the park (Wait, wasn't there something to remember about houses?), he cleverly devises a plan to snatch the “vault full of treasure” without getting caught! He is the King of Thieves! Only, hmm, the humans near the vault seem to want him to visit. Maybe Chickadee's not a criminal after all?

Monica Silvie's fun first-person storytelling will have readers falling in love with this cheeky and enormously appealing bird and his endearingly misinformed self-perception. Chickadee's growing understanding that he's not actually a criminal, and that what he really wants is a friend, adds a lovely poignancy to the humor. Elina Ellis's charming, hilarious illustrations bring the adorable Chickadee to life; the way he looks directly at readers with wide-eyed sincerity while he speaks to them is particularly effective. A spread at the back contains facts about black-capped chickadees --- illustrated with comments from Chickadee himself --- along with further reading and sources, making this both a terrific picture book read-aloud and a great supplement to life science lessons on characteristics and habitats of animals. With such a seamless blend of entertainment and information, learning has never been so much fun!

Facts about the black-capped chickadee. Select sources. Suggestions for further reading. Full-color digital illustrations. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
None

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

36

Trim Size

10 3/4" x 8 1/2"

Dewey

E

AR

3.2: points 0.5

Lexile

AD530L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Oct 2022

Book Genres

Picture Book

Topics

Black-capped chickadees. Birds. Bird feeders. Theft. Birdseed. Humorous stories. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Fans of Mac Barnett, Ursula Vernon, and Jeff Kinney will get their fill of belly laughs with the 14 books in this category. Sure to keep smiles alive.

14 books per Year
$250.74 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Transitional Readers,ESL,Fiction,Funny/Humorous,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$250.74 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Humor Elementary Plus

Humor Elementary Plus

January 2023

Humor Elementary Plus

December 2022

Humor Elementary Plus

November 2022

Humor Elementary Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.