Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Lawless Spaces



by
Corey Ann Haydu

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Simon & Schuster
Imprint
Simon & Schuster BFYR
ISBN
9781534437067
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape Reference/Discussion , Sexual Content: Sexual Harassment , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use
$20.16   $16.80
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

JLG Category

Young Adults

Perfect for fans of Deb Caletti, this poignant coming-of-age novel in verse follows a teen girl who connects with the women of her maternal line through their journals and comes to better understand her fraught relationship with her mother.

Mimi’s relationship with her mother has always been difficult. But lately, her mother has been acting more withdrawn than usual, leaving Mimi to navigate the tricky world of turning sixteen alone. What she doesn’t expect is her mother’s advice to start journaling—just like all the woman in her family before her. It’s a tradition, she says. Expected.

But Mimi takes to poetry and with it, a way to write down the realities of growing into a woman, the pains of online bullying, and the new experiences of having a boyfriend. And all in the shadows of a sexual assault case that is everywhere on the news—a case that seems to specifically rattle her mother.

Trying to understand her place in the world, Mimi dives into the uncovered journals of her grandmother, great-grandmother, and beyond. She immerses herself in each of their lives, learns of their painful stories and their beautiful sprits. And as Mimi grows closer to each of these women, she starts to forge her own path. But it isn’t until her mother’s story comes to light that Mimi learns about the unyielding bonds of family and the relentless spirit of womanhood.

Author’s note.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Sexual Assault/Rape Reference/Discussion , Sexual Content: Sexual Harassment , Drugs/Alcohol/Tobacco: Underage Use

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

496

Trim Size

8 3/10" x 5 1/2"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Lexile

990L

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2022

Book Genres

Realistic Fiction, Novels in Verse

Topics

Mothers and daughters. Sexual abuse. Diaries. Generational trauma. Body image. Social media. Secrets. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults
For Grades 9 & Up

Your older teen readers will appreciate the 12 selections in this category, a diverse mix of fiction and nonfiction covering complex issues and more mature content, from crushes and body changes to friendships and sibling rivalry.

12 books per Year
$243.96 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,Mature Readers,LGBTQ+,Novels,Funny/Humorous,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Young Adults
12 books per Year
$243.96 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Young Adults

We Are All We Have

by Marina Budhos

Young Adults

January 2023

Young Adults

December 2022

Young Adults

November 2022

Love Times Infinity

by Lane Clarke

Young Adults

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.