Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Libertie



by
Kaitlyn Greenidge

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Workman
Imprint
Algonquin
ISBN
9781616207014
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Sexism , Language: Mild Language , Violence: General , Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes
$21.90   $18.25
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

The critically acclaimed and Whiting Award–winning author of We Love You, Charlie Freeman returns with an unforgettable story about the meaning of freedom.

Coming of age as a free-born Black girl in Reconstruction-era Brooklyn, Libertie Sampson was all too aware that her purposeful mother, a practicing physician, had a vision for their future together: Libertie would go to medical school and practice alongside her. But Libertie, drawn more to music than science, feels stifled by her mother’s choices and is hungry for something else—is there really only one way to have an autonomous life? And she is constantly reminded that, unlike her mother who can pass, Libertie has skin that is too dark. When a young man from Haiti proposes to Libertie and promises she will be his equal on the island, she accepts, only to discover that she is still subordinate to him and all men. As she tries to parse what freedom actually means for a Black woman, Libertie struggles with where she might find it—for herself and for generations to come.

Inspired by the life of one of the first Black female doctors in the United States and rich with historical detail, Kaitlyn Greenidge’s new novel resonates in our times and is perfect for readers of Brit Bennett, Min Jin Lee, and Yaa Gyasi.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism , Discrimination: Sexism , Language: Mild Language , Violence: General , Sexual Content: Strong Sexual Content/Themes

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

336

Trim Size

9" x 6"

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Jun 2021

Book Genres

Historical Fiction

Topics

The American Civil War (1861–1865). Reconstruction. African American and black women. Brooklyn. Haiti. History of medicine.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Grades 11 & Up
Adult Crossover High Plus
For Grades 11 & Up
For the more advanced high school reader who is ready for adult reading, our ACH Category is a great choice. With more sophisticated and challenging themes, the 12 books in ACH open up new worlds for teen readers.
Take note: These selections often contain mature situations and language that could be considered controversial.

14 books per Year
$255.50 per Year
Interests
Fiction,Mature Readers,Novels,Realistic Fiction
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 11 & Up
Adult Crossover High Plus
14 books per Year
$255.50 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Adult Crossover High Plus

Songs in Ursa Major

by Emma Brodie

Adult Crossover High Plus

August 2021

Phase Six

by Jim Shepard

Adult Crossover High Plus

July 2021

Libertie

by Kaitlyn Greenidge

Adult Crossover High Plus

June 2021

Adult Crossover High Plus

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.