Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Slip



by
Marika McCoola
illustrated by
Aatmaja Pandya

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Workman Publishing Co., Inc.
Imprint
Algonquin Young Readers
ISBN
9781643752495
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion
$23.57   $19.64
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

From Eisner-Award nominated writer Marika McCoola and debut artist Aatmaja Pandya, an emotional coming-of-age graphic novel for fans of Bloom and Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me.

Right before Jade is about to leave for a summer art intensive, her best friend, Phoebe, attempts suicide. How is Jade supposed to focus on herself right now?

But at the Art Farm, Jade has artistic opportunities she’s been waiting for her whole life. And as she gets to know her classmates, she begins to fall for whimsical, upbeat, comfortable-in-her-own-skin Mary. Jade pours herself into making ceramic monsters that vent her stress and insecurities, but when she puts her creatures in the kiln, something unreal happens: they come to life. And they’re taking a stand: if Jade won’t confront her problems, her problems are going to confront her, including the scariest of them all—if Jade grows, prospers, and even falls in love this summer, is she leaving Phoebe behind?

Two-color illustrations. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Suicide Reference/Discussion

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

208

Dewey

F

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Fic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Sep 2022

Book Genres

Graphic Novels

Topics

Artists. Camp. Love. Friendship. Best friends. Mental health. Mental illness. Trauma. Pottery. Coming of age. Supernatural. LGBTQ. 

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Heavy with guilt over her best friend Phoebe's suicide attempt, Jade heads to sleep-away camp at the Art Farm. As Jade attempts to distract herself, she struggles to stay present at the camp and makes novice mistakes with her kiln, which destroys pieces created by her fellow campers. Mary, a romantic prospect, temporarily attracts Jade's attention and focus in a positive direction, but when Jade's Phoebe-inspired sculptures come to life and wreak havoc, her mind returns to the dark place she's been working to escape from all summer. Making expert use of white space and color, Pandya's sketchy, expressive artwork illustrates McCoola's shifting tones. Though the layout occasionally makes following dialogue difficult, overall this graphic novel successfully brings the story to life via symbolism and figurative language coupled with deeply developed characters. There are mature, elegant depictions of human anatomy within a character's portfolio. Mary and Jade appear to be Asian, while Phoebe appears to be white. VERDICT With themes ranging from mental health to self-discovery, this art-infused text will entice graphic novel fans and art students and leave them wanting another installment of Jade's story.-Angie Jameson

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up-Heavy with guilt over her best friend Phoebe's suicide attempt, Jade heads to sleep-away camp at the Art Farm. As Jade attempts to distract herself, she struggles to stay present at the camp and makes novice mistakes with her kiln, which destroys pieces created by her fellow campers. Mary, a romantic prospect, temporarily attracts Jade's attention and focus in a positive direction, but when Jade's Phoebe-inspired sculptures come to life and wreak havoc, her mind returns to the dark place she's been working to escape from all summer. Making expert use of white space and color, Pandya's sketchy, expressive artwork illustrates McCoola's shifting tones. Though the layout occasionally makes following dialogue difficult, overall this graphic novel successfully brings the story to life via symbolism and figurative language coupled with deeply developed characters. There are mature, elegant depictions of human anatomy within a character's portfolio. Mary and Jade appear to be Asian, while Phoebe appears to be white. VERDICT With themes ranging from mental health to self-discovery, this art-infused text will entice graphic novel fans and art students and leave them wanting another installment of Jade's story.-Angie Jameson

Grades 9 & Up
Graphic Novels High Plus
For Grades 9 & Up

Book-length narratives presented in comic book style, graphic novels foster both visual and verbal comprehension skills while exposing readers to interesting dialogue and satire, as well as affirming diversity.

These unique books, some of them only published in softcover, are ideal for attracting reluctant readers and introducing them to literature they might not encounter otherwise. You may find that the 12 books in this category will turn your reluctant readers into eager readers.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests
Diversity,Fiction,High Interest/Reluctant Reader,Nonfiction,Struggling Readers,Novels
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 9 & Up
Graphic Novels High Plus
14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Graphic Novels High Plus

Shuna's Journey

by Hayao Miyazaki

Graphic Novels High Plus

January 2023

Graphic Novels High Plus

December 2022

Clementine Book One

by Tillie Walden

Graphic Novels High Plus

November 2022

Animal Castle Vol. 1

by Xavier Dorison

Graphic Novels High Plus

October 2022
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.