Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Sprouting Wings: The True Story of James Herman Banning, the First African American Pilot to Fly Across the United States



by
Louisa Jaggar ,Shari Becker
illustrated by
Floyd Cooper

Edition
Library edition with trade jacket added
Publisher
Penguin Random House
Imprint
Crown
ISBN
9781984847638
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism
$21.06   $17.55
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY

The inspirational and true story of James Herman Banning, the first African American pilot to fly across the country, comes to life in this picture book biography perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Little Leaders. Includes art from a Coretta Scott King award-winning illustrator.

James Herman Banning always dreamed of touching the sky. But how could a farm boy from Oklahoma find a plane? And how would he learn to fly it? None of the other pilots looked like him.

In a journey that would span 3,300 miles, take twenty-one days, and inspire a nation, James Herman Banning proved that you can't put barriers on dreams. Louisa Jaggar incorporates over seven years of research, including Banning's own writings and an interview with the aviator's great-nephew. She teams up with cowriter Share Becker and award-winning illustrator Floyd Cooper to capture Banning's historic flight across the United States.Author’s note. Quotation sources. Resources. Suggestions for further reading.Full-color oil paint illustrations. 

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

40

Trim Size

8" x 11"

Dewey

B

AR

0: points 0

Genre

Nonfic

Scholastic Reading Counts

0

JLG Release

Mar 2021

Book Genres

Autobiography/Biography, Narrative Nonfiction, Picture Book

Topics

James Herman Banning (1900–1933). African American air pilots. Cross-country flying. Thomas Cox Allen (1907–1989). William J. Powell (1897–1942).

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

James Herman Banning, an African American living in Canton, Oklahoma, in the early 1900s, wanted to fly, especially after learning that the Wright Brothers had taken to the skies for sixteen and a half minutes in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, in October 1905. At the Excelsior Library (the first Oklahoma library for Blacks), he read about how “flying machines” stayed aloft. In 1911, young James saw “birdman” Charles Walsh fly at the fair and climbed aboard his craft when no one was looking. After World War I began, Banning attended Iowa State for one year then opened an automobile repair business at age twenty-one, through which he met Lieutenant Raymond Fisher, a pilot, who taught James to fly. Despite racist discrimination and finances that limited his access to the best equipment, Banning, along with Black mechanic Thomas Cox Allen, became the first African American to fly the 3,300 miles from Los Angeles to New York, stopping in towns that would welcome Black aeronauts. Everyone who supported their journey signed the wing of their plane, the Eaglerock. Cooper’s signature illustrations, highly textured oil-on-board, reveal Banning’s passion for flight and his determination to spend as much time as possible in the air. The prominence of brown hues centers Black lives in this story, while equally impressive blues keep readers looking skyward. An entertaining, exquisitely illustrated biography of a Black aeronaut who should be as well known as the Wright Brothers. An author’s note, quotation sources, newspaper articles by Banning, interviews, documents, and further reading are appended. MICHELLE H. MARTIN

Praise & Reviews

Horn Book

James Herman Banning, an African American living in Canton, Oklahoma, in the early 1900s, wanted to fly, especially after learning that the Wright Brothers had taken to the skies for sixteen and a half minutes in Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, in October 1905. At the Excelsior Library (the first Oklahoma library for Blacks), he read about how “flying machines” stayed aloft. In 1911, young James saw “birdman” Charles Walsh fly at the fair and climbed aboard his craft when no one was looking. After World War I began, Banning attended Iowa State for one year then opened an automobile repair business at age twenty-one, through which he met Lieutenant Raymond Fisher, a pilot, who taught James to fly. Despite racist discrimination and finances that limited his access to the best equipment, Banning, along with Black mechanic Thomas Cox Allen, became the first African American to fly the 3,300 miles from Los Angeles to New York, stopping in towns that would welcome Black aeronauts. Everyone who supported their journey signed the wing of their plane, the Eaglerock. Cooper’s signature illustrations, highly textured oil-on-board, reveal Banning’s passion for flight and his determination to spend as much time as possible in the air. The prominence of brown hues centers Black lives in this story, while equally impressive blues keep readers looking skyward. An entertaining, exquisitely illustrated biography of a Black aeronaut who should be as well known as the Wright Brothers. An author’s note, quotation sources, newspaper articles by Banning, interviews, documents, and further reading are appended. MICHELLE H. MARTIN

Grades 2-6
Nonfiction Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

A world of discovery awaits in this 12 book category. Elementary readers eager to know more about the world around them will learn much from diving into these nonfiction titles covering a diverse range of topics. A sure way to satisfy inquisitive minds.

14 books per Year
$245.70 per Year
Interests
Biographies,Diversity,Nonfiction,Reluctant Readers,Science/STEAM
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Nonfiction Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$245.70 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Nonfiction Elementary Plus

Nonfiction Elementary Plus

August 2021

Mornings with Monet

by Barb Rosenstock

Nonfiction Elementary Plus

July 2021

Nonfiction Elementary Plus

June 2021

Unspeakable: The Tulsa Race Massacre

by Carole Boston Weatherford

Nonfiction Elementary Plus

May 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.