Loading...
Marked Man: Frank Serpico's Inside Battle Against Police Corruption

By John Florio, Ouisie Shapiro
Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher Macmillan Imprint Roaring Brook ISBN

9781250621955

Marked Man: Frank Serpico's Inside Battle Against Police Corruption

load
SKU
9781250621955J
CONTENT NOTIFICATIONS

Crime: General,Discrimination: Racial Insensitivity/Racism,Language: Strong Language,Violence: General

Marked Man tells the fascinating story of Frank Serpico who, in the 1960s, took on the monumental task of rooting out systematic corruption in the New York Police Department.



Since the NYPD was formed in 1845, the famous "pad" was as much a criminal ring as it was a legitimate police force. As the decades wore on, corruption became so out of hand that cops were regularly demanding payments from brothels, bars, pool halls, and gambling joints to keep them out of trouble with the law. It was a multimillion-dollar-a-year business that everyone seemed to turn a blind eye to.



Everyone, that is, except Frank Serpico.



Delve into this true story of corruption and greed, of the dark history of the largest police department in the United States, and the price one man ends up paying for doing what he thinks is right.



Perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin and Rebecca Barone, Marked Man is a dive into one man's courageous fight against a corrupt system.



Author's note. Preface. Glossary. Source notes. Bibliography. Index.
Black-and-white photographs.
More Information

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Biography High Plus (Grades 9 & Up)

Biography High Plus

Biography High Plus (Grades 9 & Up)

For Grades 9 & Up

Fascinating biographies and compelling personal stories that provide a view into history or perspective on the issues of our times.

14 books per Year
$302.40 per Year
Interests

Diversity, LGBTQ+, Nonfiction, Biographies

Like this book? Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE