Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

The Terrible Two Get Worse


Series
The Terrible Two

by
Mac Barnett ,Jory John
illustrated by
Kevin Cornell

Edition
Hardcover edition
Publisher
Abrams
Imprint
Amulet
ISBN
9781419716805

Awards and Honors
Kids’ Indie Next List Preview, Winter 2015–2016, Ages 9–12
ILA Children’s Choices 2017 Reading List
POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Mild Violence
$10.80   $9.00
SEE MEMBER PRICE
QTY
Out of stock

Duo Niles and Miles love to prank bumbling Principal Barkin. When Barkin’s stern father, Former Principal Barkin, takes over, the boys miss their favorite nemesis. Black-and-white illustrations.

POTENTIALLY SENSITIVE AREAS
Violence: Mild Violence

Details

Format

Print

Page Count

224

Trim Size

5 3/4" x 8 1/2"

AR

4.5: points 4

Lexile

650L

Genre

Fiction

Scholastic Reading Counts

8

JLG Release

Feb 2016

Book Genres


Topics

Practical jokes. Tricks. School principals. Schools. Friendship. Humorous stories.

Standard MARC Records

Download Standard MARC Records

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

The Horn Book Magazine, The Horn Book Guide^, Kirkus Reviews, School Library Journal

School Library Journal

It’s a new school year, and Miles and Niles, the Terrible Two, are ready to prank. The year has hardly begun when the unthinkable happens. The Terrible Two have done their job too well, and their principal, Mr. Barkin, is put on involuntary leave because of his inability to control the incessant rash of pranks in his school, humiliatingly replaced by his father. Miles and Niles gear up to start pranking the new Principal Barkin, but he is a strong opponent, maintaining that a prank is only a prank if it is acknowledged as such. No matter how ingenious the Terrible Two’s pranks are, Barkin will not admit anything is wrong. Depressed and a feeling a little guilty, Miles and Niles team up with the last person they ever thought they’d pull off a prank with: former principal Barkin, the one person who knows his father’s only weakness. This is a strong and much anticipated follow up to the original. The evolution of the characters and their relationships is particularly enjoyable. Miles and Niles have grown as friends and as people. It’s fun to watch them grapple with the repercussions of their actions but ultimately decide to continue pranking. Viewing former principal Barkin from a new perspective, as he tries to find meaning in his life after losing his job, will make readers rethink their original views of him. The new Mr. Barkin is a wonderful, villainous addition to the cast of characters at Yawnee Valley School. Fast-paced and laugh-aloud funny, the book will appeal to a wide range of readers. Frequent, humorous graphics will attract fans of visual storytelling and also make the book more accessible to reluctant readers. Quirky writing and colorful dialogue make the book an excellent read-aloud. VERDICT A welcome addition for fans of the first book, though familiarity with the original isn’t necessary to enjoy this hilarious sequel.—Juliet Morefield, Multnomah County Library, OR

Horn Book

Pranking remains a fine art in this sequel to The Terrible Two (rev. 3/15), which opens with Miles and Niles targeting Principal Barkin and his obnoxious son, Josh, in practical jokes of the highest quality. Unfortunately, their success brings a new challenge in the form of Principal Barkin’s father, former Principal Barkin, who, disgusted by his son’s inability to handle the pranking that mars his legacy, takes the school back under his own control. The Terrible Two seem to have met their match in this wily, domineering leader who defuses most of their hijinks and just ignores the others, no matter how creative, complicated, or well executed. Ultimately, the Terrible Two must enlist some help to get under the skin of senior Principal Barkin, and they know exactly whom to ask. Exaggerated cartoon illustrations throughout punctuate the plot and add to the comedy. Full of absorbing strategy and even a little suspense, this humorous sequel will keep readers entertained while offering insight into the nature of successful pranking and its reliance on audience reaction. julie roach

Praise & Reviews

School Library Journal

It’s a new school year, and Miles and Niles, the Terrible Two, are ready to prank. The year has hardly begun when the unthinkable happens. The Terrible Two have done their job too well, and their principal, Mr. Barkin, is put on involuntary leave because of his inability to control the incessant rash of pranks in his school, humiliatingly replaced by his father. Miles and Niles gear up to start pranking the new Principal Barkin, but he is a strong opponent, maintaining that a prank is only a prank if it is acknowledged as such. No matter how ingenious the Terrible Two’s pranks are, Barkin will not admit anything is wrong. Depressed and a feeling a little guilty, Miles and Niles team up with the last person they ever thought they’d pull off a prank with: former principal Barkin, the one person who knows his father’s only weakness. This is a strong and much anticipated follow up to the original. The evolution of the characters and their relationships is particularly enjoyable. Miles and Niles have grown as friends and as people. It’s fun to watch them grapple with the repercussions of their actions but ultimately decide to continue pranking. Viewing former principal Barkin from a new perspective, as he tries to find meaning in his life after losing his job, will make readers rethink their original views of him. The new Mr. Barkin is a wonderful, villainous addition to the cast of characters at Yawnee Valley School. Fast-paced and laugh-aloud funny, the book will appeal to a wide range of readers. Frequent, humorous graphics will attract fans of visual storytelling and also make the book more accessible to reluctant readers. Quirky writing and colorful dialogue make the book an excellent read-aloud. VERDICT A welcome addition for fans of the first book, though familiarity with the original isn’t necessary to enjoy this hilarious sequel.—Juliet Morefield, Multnomah County Library, OR

Horn Book

Pranking remains a fine art in this sequel to The Terrible Two (rev. 3/15), which opens with Miles and Niles targeting Principal Barkin and his obnoxious son, Josh, in practical jokes of the highest quality. Unfortunately, their success brings a new challenge in the form of Principal Barkin’s father, former Principal Barkin, who, disgusted by his son’s inability to handle the pranking that mars his legacy, takes the school back under his own control. The Terrible Two seem to have met their match in this wily, domineering leader who defuses most of their hijinks and just ignores the others, no matter how creative, complicated, or well executed. Ultimately, the Terrible Two must enlist some help to get under the skin of senior Principal Barkin, and they know exactly whom to ask. Exaggerated cartoon illustrations throughout punctuate the plot and add to the comedy. Full of absorbing strategy and even a little suspense, this humorous sequel will keep readers entertained while offering insight into the nature of successful pranking and its reliance on audience reaction. julie roach

Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
For Grades 2-6

Fans of Mac Barnett, Ursula Vernon, and Jeff Kinney will get their fill of belly laughs with the 12 books in this category. Sure to keep smiles alive.

14 books per Year
$207.20 per Year
Interests
Chapter Books,Transitional Readers,ESL,Fiction,Funny/Humorous,Graphic Novels,Reluctant Readers
Like this book?
Get more like this every month.
LEARN MORE
Grades 2-6
Humor Elementary Plus
14 books per Year
$207.20 per Year

Other Recommended Titles From Humor Elementary Plus

Cranky Chicken

by Katherine Battersby

Humor Elementary Plus

December 2021

Humor Elementary Plus

November 2021

Poultrygeist

by Eric Geron

Humor Elementary Plus

October 2021
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.