Twelve Days in May

By: Larry Dane Brimner

On May 4, 1961, a group of thirteen black and white civil rights activists launched the Freedom Ride, aiming to challenge the practice of segregation on buses and at bus terminal facilities in the South. The Ride would last twelve days. Despite the fact that segregation on buses crossing state lines was ruled unconstitutional by the Supreme Court in 1946, and segregation in interstate transportation facilities was ruled unconstitutional in 1960, these rulings were routinely ignored in the South. The thirteen Freedom Riders intended to test the laws and draw attention to the lack of enforcement with their peaceful protest. As the Riders traveled deeper into the South, they encountered increasing violence and opposition. Noted civil rights author Larry Dane Brimner relies on archival documents and rarely seen images to tell the riveting story of the little-known first days of the Freedom Ride. With author’s note, source notes, bibliography, and index.

ISBN: 9781629795867

JLG Release: Jun 2018

$20.25  Member Price

Out of stock

Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

Series Nonfiction
History Grades 6-8

Grades 6-8

12 titles/year


Awards & Honors

2018 Carter G. Woodson Book Award Winner, Secondary Level
2018 Robert F. Sibert Medal Winner
Booklist Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction for Older and Middle Readers: 2018
ALSC Notable Children’s Books 2018, All Ages
ALA-CBC Building a Home Library Booklist - 2018
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2017, Informational Books for Older Readers
Booklist Top of the List Editor’s Choice, Nonfiction Older Readers

Book Details



First Release

June 2018



Dewey Classification


Trim Size

9" x 10"

Page Count


Accelerated Reader

Level 7; Points: 2;

Scholastic Reading Counts



Level 1080L


Print Book


Hardcover edition


Calkins Creek

Potentially Sensitive Areas


Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Recommended Titles From Series Nonfiction
History Grades 6-8

Series Nonfiction
History Grades 6-8


Fats Domino

by Michael DeMocker

Series Nonfiction
History Grades 6-8


Series Nonfiction
History Grades 6-8


Series Nonfiction
History Grades 6-8

Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.