The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

By: Karina Yan Glaser

When their reclusive, curmudgeonly landlord decides not to renew their lease, the five Vanderbeeker siblings have eleven days to do whatever it takes to stay in their beloved home.

ISBN: 9780544876392

JLG Release: Jan 2018


Sensitive Areas: No sensitive areas

$16.99   $12.75 Member Price

Out of stock

Add to Wishlist

Like this book? Get more like it every month.

City Elementary

Grades 2-6

12 titles/year

$210.60/year

Awards & Honors

Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award 2018—2019 Nominee 2018 Judy Lopez Memorial Award Winner for Children's Literature
Capitol Choices 2018, Ten to Fourteen
MSL Cream of the Crop - 2018
Indies Introduce Summer / Fall 2017, Middle Grade
The New York TimesNotable Children’s Books of 2017, Middle Grade
Chicago Public Library Best Books of 2017, Fiction for Older Readers
Los Angeles Public Library Best of 2017: Children’s Books

Praise & Reviews

Starred or favorable reviews have been received from these periodicals:

Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, Booklist*, Publishers Weekly*, School Library Journal*

School Library Journal

[STARRED REVIEW]
Glaser’s pitch-perfect debut novel set in Harlem introduces the endearing biracial Vanderbeeker family. Twins Isa and Jessie, along with siblings Oliver, Hyacinth, and Laney (ranging from ages four-and-three-quarters to 12), plus a dog, a cat, a bunny, and their parents, all live together in a brownstone on 141st S
[STARRED REVIEW]
Glaser’s pitch-perfect debut novel set in Harlem introduces the endearing biracial Vanderbeeker family. Twins Isa and Jessie, along with siblings Oliver, Hyacinth, and Laney (ranging from ages four-and-three-quarters to 12), plus a dog, a cat, a bunny, and their parents, all live together in a brownstone on 141st Street. Unfortunately, cantankerous landlord Mr. Biederman refuses to renew the lease. They have the five days before Christmas to change his mind or they will have to move out of the only home they have ever known. Each child has a plan and a distinct personality to match; the neighbors and friends all do, too. Glaser’s detailed line drawings of the block’s brownstones emphasize that this book is not just about one family; rather, it encompasses the stories of an interconnected community. Jessie creates a Rube Goldberg contraption that makes music while watering the building garden. Elderly Miss Josie and Mr. Jeet live above the Vanderbeekers and count on their support. A school dance, sibling rivalry, and preparing just the right gifts for Christmas are all subplots that Glaser deftly uses as a tool to both develop the characters and engage readers in the family’s entertaining daily chaos. Glaser’s love for the Vanderbeekers shines through in her prose and stick drawings. Readers will look forward to future adventures. VERDICT A highly recommended purchase for all middle grade collections. Fans of Sydney Taylor and Jeanne Birdsall are sure to be satisfied by this contemporary urban update of the family-centered novel.—Eva Thaler-Sroussi, Glencoe Public Library, IL

Horn Book

The biracial Vanderbeeker family—five happy siblings and two loving parents— loves its close-knit Harlem neighborhood, minus grouchy, misanthropic landlord Mr. Beiderman. Then “the Beiderman” announces he wants the family out by New Year’s. The intrepid siblings decide to give their parents the “Best Christmas Pr The biracial Vanderbeeker family—five happy siblings and two loving parents— loves its close-knit Harlem neighborhood, minus grouchy, misanthropic landlord Mr. Beiderman. Then “the Beiderman” announces he wants the family out by New Year’s. The intrepid siblings decide to give their parents the “Best Christmas Present Ever” by making him change his mind. Predictably, but nonetheless amusingly, their various schemes tend to backfire—until the inevitable change of heart. Glaser’s third-person narration weaves individual characters’ plot threads and a palpable sense of place through the larger family story in the tradition of Jeanne Birdsall, Sydney Taylor, Elizabeth Enright, and Hilary McKay. monica edinger

Book Details

ISBN

9780544876392

First Release

January 2018

Genre

Fic

Dewey Classification

F

Trim Size

8 1/4" x 5 1/2"

Page Count

304

Accelerated Reader

Level 5.3; Points: 7;

Scholastic Reading Counts

Level 5.3; Points: 11;

Lexile

Level 810L

Format

Print Book

Edition

Hardcover edition

Publisher

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Potentially Sensitive Areas

No sensitive areas

Topics


Standard MARC Record

Download Standard MARC Record

Cover Art

Download Cover Art

Recommended Titles From City Elementary

Albert's Quiet Quest

by Isabelle Arsenault

City Elementary

$17.55

My Papi Has a Motorcycle

by Isabel Quintero

City Elementary

$17.55

City Elementary

$17.55

Right as Rain

by Lindsey Stoddard

City Elementary

$17.55
Copyright © 2017 Magento, Inc. All rights reserved.